IPL 2017 Match 18 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils : KKR wins by 4 wickets

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils

In the 18th match of Indian Premier League 2017, team Kolkata Knight Riders registered victory by defeating Delhi Daredevils. KKR won the game by four wickets and acquired first position in IPL 2017 points table. Delhi’s rank in the same chart declined to 4th position with the defeat in this game. This was fifth match for KKR while DD played its fourth match of this edition of IPL.

After winning the toss, Delhi’s team elected to bat first. Delhi Daredevils had a great start to its batting inning. Opener batsmen Sanju Samson and Sam Billings scored 39 runs and 21 runs, respectively. These two batsmen set up a necessary base for their team’s score. Both these players lost their wickets in early stage of the game.

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils

Next batsmen Karun Nair, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant scored 21 runs, 26 runs and 38 runs, respectively. With some little contributions from other batsmen in the batting lineup, Delhi’s team set up a huge target of 169 runs for antagonists.  Chasing the target of 169 runs, team KKR had a decent opening score as first three players in the batting lineup didn’t manage to perform well and failed to score huge individual runs.

Manish Pandey and Yusuf Pathan contributed majorly in chasing the big target of 170 runs. Manish scored 69 runs in 49 balls. The right handed batsman hit 4 fours and 3 sixes. Remaining not out at the striker’s end, Pandey gave a good finishing touch to his team’s batting inning. Yusuf Pathan, the tall and powerful hitter in KKR team, scored 59 runs in 39 balls. Yusuf hit 6 fours and 2 sixes.